Fly Fishing in Thailand – Barramundi

7 09 2009

My first attempt at fly fishing was 20 years ago in Brecon, South Wales. We fished a stream that ran past the priory and after a lot of practice and instructions I failed to catch a fish and to even get a decent cast.  Bob Lloyd, the man teaching me caught several trout and it was embedded in my thoughts that fly fishing was difficult and next to impossible.

On a vist to Bor Num, in Bang Pakong province (see my website for the GPS Coordinates) I noticed a few locals fly fishing.  On speaking to them I found out that they had hired the equipment from the small shop at Bor Num and had been taught to cast by one of the staff at Bor Num.

I spoke to the owner of the shop and we made arrangements to for me to go to the lake mid week when it was less busy and he would teach me for free – yes free!

My first hour was spent untagling myself and transporting grass from behind me into the lake but eventually it clicked and I had my first fish within 2 hours.  Hooking the 2kg Barramundi also hooked me and I have had many hours on varoius lakes fly fishing for Barramundi and Pacu.

For more details, location and tips for fly fishing at Bor Num go to my Fishing in Thailand webpage

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

